Fall Swing

Here’s an update on the imperial stout carbonation issue.  I ended up essentially doing a pitch of US-05 into the bottles.  I boiled about 100mL of water, cooled to about 70 and added about a half a satchet of yeast and let it sit for a half an hour.  Then I stirred the slurry.  I uncapped the bottles and added about 1mL of the slurry to each bottle and put fresh caps on and inverted the bottles a couple of times.  After two weeks, my plastic bottle was firming up but didn’t get quite rock hard.  I refrigerated it and opened.  No head on the pour.  There was a little carbonation on mouthfeel but it wasn’t anywhere near where it needed to be.  So at this point, I’m just going to let it sit for the long haul and see where it’s at in a couple of months.

In other news, I’m gearing up for the holidays by brewing a lot.  I have hefeweizen and my mock marzen in inventory.  Bourbon porter and brown ale are in primary.  And either this weekend or next, I’m brewing somewhat of a heady topper clone.  I’ve bought the ingredients and it is by far the most expensive beer I’ve ever made due to the amount of hops.  This is going to be a 3.5 gallon batch and it cost me about $70.  A normal 5 gallon batch runs me about $40.  So I have it in my mind that if this doesn’t turn out, I’m probably not going to attempt it again.  This is one of those times where you aren’t saving any money by brewing it yourself.  Below are a couple pics of the grobtoberfest, imperial stout and hefeweizen.

WP_20151026_001 WP_20151026_002 WP_20151022_001 WP_20150928_002 WP_20150928_001

2 comments on “Fall Swing

  1. Cheryl says:

    Sounds like a good lineup on beers! Reminds me we need to get started on our own holiday beers. Love the label on that last bottle!

Leave a Reply

