Beers of Summer (and Spring)

It’s been a hell of a winter….even down here in Florida. But I’m sure the springing of Spring is just around the corner. And when the warmer temps start settling in, it changes what I want to drink. Beach weather comes much quicker here in Florida than further up north, so I need to start planning on brewing what I want to have in my cooler. I’ve set up my brewing calendar to brew with the seasons for the most part. So starting in March I’ll be brewing 3 successive beers that are lighter, crisp and refreshing: Rye Tymes American Ale (light rye ale), Timmy Time Lime Cream Ale (exactly as it sounds) and Witty Kitty Witbier (belgian white). They are timed so that as we get into the full swing of spring and into the squelching heat of summer, these beers will be ready to be poured into my glass. Speaking of seasonal brewing, I’ve scheduled my hefeweizen and marzen for August so they are ready for Oktoberfest. And of course more of my dark and hearty beers will be brewed for fall/winter.

I posted previously that I was going to focus on my 12 recipes this year, one per month. Then I added my wine/saison hybrid and the marzen to the list. Somehow I can’t stay away from doing something new. So I got the idea of doing a session IPA with chinook and cascade (3.5%). But I won’t be doing that until December. By that time, I’m going to need to break up the monotony of the darker beers at that time of year and have something lighter but flavorful on hand.

I haven’t posted about it yet, but I brewed Regalic Saison two weeks ago (saison with muscat grape concentrate). I’m waiting until it’s time for tasting in about two weeks and I’ll do a full grain-to-glass summary. I’ll also include how the bourbon ale came out this time around.

Brewery Update:

Bloed Koning Kriek:  sitting undisturbed in secondary until August.

2B’s Bourbon Ale and Regalic Saison: being bottled tomorrow.

Next brew day:  Rye Tymes in about a week.

By the way, the Witty Kitty that I brewed the day after Christmas had a sulphur like aroma out of the bottle, which is a by-product of the yeast.  But luckily after a few more weeks, it’s corrected itself.  I’m attributing it to colder temps in the house which may have caused the refermentation and bottle conditioning process to be slower.  I’m going to post a tasting comparison between this and a commercial witbier soon.

Leave a Reply

