2B’s Bourbon Ale and Kriek Secondary

I brewed batch #2 of 2015 this past Friday.  It’s a repeat of 2B’s bourbon ale that I brewed last July.  When I went shopping for ingredients, my LHBS was out of a couple things I needed.  The recipe calls for 4 hop additions (2 with EKG, 2 with Fuggles), and US-04 yeast.  They were out of US-04 and Fuggles.  So I went with US-05 and all EKG.  The %AA for Fuggles and EKG are about the same and both are English hops.  So I don’t anticipate much of a difference from them.  By not using an english ale yeast though, I may lose some of the esters in the final beer, but with this being a bourbon beer, the absence may not be significant.  The brew day went very smooth with no issues at all and I hit my OG of 1.063 on the nose.  If you recall, I had mash over-temp issues the last time I brewed this and the final product was hazy though tasty.  I’m expecting this time around that this beer will be clearer.  This is also the first time that I adjusted my recipe amounts of hops based on the alpha acid percentage of the actual hops I purchased.  My recipe had a default AA of 5% but the ones in store were 7.2%.  The difference was large enough that I decided to reduce my hop weights accordingly to hit my target IBUs.

WP_20150206_001  WP_20150206_002

WP_20150206_003  WP_20150206_004

WP_20150206_005  WP_20150206_006  WP_20150206_007

WP_20150206_008  WP_20150206_010  WP_20150206_011

My kriek has been in primary for 4 weeks.  I did a taste test.  There is a bit of tartness coming through, but the beer is clear and no off flavors.  I made the decision to rack to secondary with the cherry puree because I didn’t want my first try to be completely over the top.  Essentially, I want it to still be accessible for my family and friends.  If I’m the only one that can stand to drink it, that’s not that much fun.  But I do plan to let it sit in secondary for 6 months.

WP_20150207_001

Up next Friday is an extra brew day that I’m fitting in.  It’s a wine/beer hybrid that I’m calling Regalic.  It will be a saison with muscat grape concentrate added at the end of the boil.  I just drank a saison brewed by Saint Somewhere Brewing located in Tarpon Springs, FL which incorporates Norton grapes.  It’s called Cynthiana.  It had a nice earthy yet fruity taste without it being sweet.  Very nice and dry.  I’m hoping that regalic comes out somewhere in that ballpark.

WP_20150208_001

One comment on “2B’s Bourbon Ale and Kriek Secondary

  1. […] Koning, which is Dutch for King’s Blood. The blog posts for that beer can be found here and here and also here.  I was happy with how it came out but next time I wanted to boost the sour and […]

Leave a Reply

