Left Nut Bottling

After 14 days in primary, I bottled my Left Nut Brown Ale.  I boiled two cups of water, added a half a cup of cane sugar and stirred until dissolved.  Covered and allowed to cool.

Sugar solution

With a sanitized measuring cup, got a sample from the fermentor and poured it into my test tube and took my final gravity reading.  Adjusted for temperature, it was 1.023, which results in an ABV of 4.6%.  Missed my target of 5.0%.  Maybe the yeast stalled.  But I’ll live with it.  Taste test was very good.  I dumped the sugar solution in my bottling bucket and racked my ale from the fermentor on top of it.  I gave it a stir, sanitized my bottles, filled, capped and labeled.

final gravitybottlingbottles filled

finished brown ale bottlesbrown ale label

The yield was fantastic.  One 16 oz PET for my carbonation tester and 47 12oz bottles.

7 comments on “Left Nut Bottling

  1. Gilad says:

    Hi Mike,
    Are you finding success with using cane sugar? I always just used dextrose, but your method sounds much cheaper. What is the ratio you use, 1/2 a cup for 2 gallons?

    • mgrob76 says:

      I have had no issues using cane sugar and it is definitely cheaper. I use 1/2 cup for about 4.5 gallons, which is what my yield usually is after fermentation and racking to my bottling bucket. http://www.northernbrewer.com has a good calculator that tells you how much you need based on how large your batch is and what “sugar” you are using.

  2. ercousin says:

    Have you considered a bottling wand? They help quite a bit with getting a consistent fill level and minimizing oxygen pickup. Just need a 4 inch length of tubing and and the bottling wand.

    • mgrob76 says:

      Yeah actually I have been thinking about it lately. Going to look at them on the next trip to the brew shop. I have to pick up tubing and a new autosiphon anyway.

      • ercousin says:

        Do you find your beer keeps pretty well before oxidation sets in? Bottle conditioning does help with oxidation.

      • mgrob76 says:

        I’ve never noticed oxidation in my beers over time. But my batches usually don’t last past 3-4 months. But I will be brewing the most I ever have in 2015 with regards to number of gallons/bottles produced, so some bottles may end up sitting around a little bit longer than usual. I do use oxygen absorbing caps, but who knows how much of an impact they really have. The only thing I notice as my beer ages over a month or two is that it continues to dry out (get less sweet), I assume due to the continued fermentation in the bottle.

Leave a Reply

