Brew Day Times Two

So I brewed 2B’s Bourbon Barrel Ale and Timmy Time Lime on the same day last Friday….like concurrently. And I’ve learned a very valuable lesson. I will never brew two recipes on the same day again. There is just too much to keep track of and there is a higher propensity to screw things up. The main issue was overshooting temps. Unless you have an alarm on your thermometer, you have to watch it like a hawk. I’m adding grain to this pot over here, and when I finally turn my attention to the second pot….whoops, I overshot the strike temp by 15 degrees. Anyway, my friend Rick and his wife Amy came over to hang in my garage on a hot Florida summer afternoon to drink a few and brew. It was nice not to sweat alone. And here are the recipes that we attempted to execute.

2B’s Bourbon Barrel Ale (5 gallon BIAB)
11 lbs Pale 2-row
1.2 lbs Caramel 40
1.2 lbs Carapils
0.9 lbs Light Wheat
5.4 gal strike water (165F strike temp)
Water to grist ratio: 1.5
Mash: 152 F for 75 min

Sparge:  2 gal at 170F
Boil: 60 min
0.5 oz East Kent Goldings (60 min)
0.5 oz East Kent Goldings (30 min)
0.5 oz Fuggles (15 min)
Yeast: US-04
Intended OG: 1.063
Actual OG: 1.057

Timmy Time Lime Cream Ale (2.5 gal BIAB)
4.3 lbs Pale 2-row
0.3 lbs Carapils
0.3 lbs Flaked Barley
0.3 lbs Flaked Corn
3.25 gal strike water (161F strike temp)
Water to grist ratio: 2.5
Mash: 152F for 75 min

Sparge:  0.75 gal at 170F
Boil: 60 min
0.25 oz Cluster (45 min)
0.13 oz Cluster (15 min)
Lime Peel (10 min)
Yeast: US-05
Intended OG: 1.046
Actual OG: 1.045

The other mistake I made, which was just a brain fart of unknown explanation, is I mashed in my bourbon barrel grain when my strike water hit 152 instead of 165F. So I proceeded to heat the pot to 152F post mash-in to correct. And wouldn’t you know it, as I was paying attention to the Timmy pot while doing this, I overshot my mash temp. The only thing I could do was keep the lid off and stir frequently until the temp settled down to 152. But I’m going to look at this as a scientific experiment. How does overheating your mash affect the end product? We shall see. Overall though, the Timmy Time went pretty well. I came close to my intended original gravities for both and they were both bubbling away the next day. So for 14 days they will sit.

Rick

Mike

Table setup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And yes my garage is complete mess. I’ll get around to cleaning it one of these weekends.

Leave a Reply

