A Very Busy Day

Yesterday was hectic.  I had to bottle my American Rye Ale and then start brewing my next batch, Bourbon Barrel Porter.  Yeah, I did it to myself.  But my multitasking skills came shining through.

American Rye Ale Bottling:

This brew has been in primary fermentation for 14 days.  I decided to go with Dixie Crystals pure cane sugar for bottle priming instead of corn sugar due to my carbonation problems previously.  I did use corn sugar in one bottle to see if there is a difference.  But first I had to rack the batch to a second sanitized Mr. Beer keg.  There was just too much trub to bottle straight from the primary.  So I transferred and bottled with little issue.  They’ll sit for two weeks and then go into the fridge,  ready to drink by Thanksgiving.   I did get a final gravity reading of 1.001 which brings my approximate %ABV to 3.9%.

Bourbon Barrel Porter:

The reason I needed to get this going this week was because I wanted to have this ready to drink by Christmas.  This is going to be such a great, toasty, winter warming brew for the holidays.  Its a porter recipe with toasted oak chips and some bourbon thrown into the secondary fermentation keg.  This is another northernbrewer.com recipe and I had purchased the ingredients at my LHBS as I mentioned in my last post.

  • 4.75 lbs Maris Otter
  • 0.5 lbs Light Wheat
  • 0.5 lbs Chocolate Malt
  • 0.25 lbs Briess Black malt
  • 0.25 lbs Crystal  77
  • 0.5 oz Chinook hops (60 min)
  • 0.25 oz East Kent Goldings (15 min)
  • 0.25 oz East Kent Goldings (5 min)
  • Danstar Windsor Ale Yeast

Brewing went pretty smooth.  I started with 4 gallons of spring water.  This gave me a qt/lb ratio of 2.56 which is about as low as I want to go with a BIAB and it pretty much maxed out my 5 gallon pot.  I mashed at  152F for 75 minutes instead of the prescribed 60 min and mashed out at 170F for 10 minutes.  My post boil volume was 3 gallons so I topped it off with spring water to 3.5 gal.   The wort was as black as midnight.  Cooled and transferred to the fermenter without issue.  Ended up with a little more than 2.5 gal.  The Danstar dry yeast was not just a sprinkle, sit and stir like I’m used to.  As per the instructions, I had to rehydrate in 86-92 F sterile (boiled water), stir and pitch.  As of last night, it looked like I did it right because I had a little overflow do to fierce activity.  Luckily the fermenter was in a cooler and cleanup was a minor inconvenience.  So there it will sit for 14 days.  Then it goes into secondary.

Bourbon Barrel Porter Wort

Leave a Reply

